HIT & RUN LAWYER Monroe County
JUSTICE YOU DESERVE
Top Hit & Run Accident Attorney serving Monroe County, Plymouth Meeting, Allentown, Easton & Lehigh Valley
Monroe County Hit and Run Accidents
When you are in a hit and run accident in Monroe County, whether you are driving a car, motorcycle or bicycle, you are required to stop and exchange personal data and insurance information with other accident victims. Perpetrators may leave the scene for a range of reasons, from being uninsured to driving with a suspended license or while under the influence. Speaking with a hit and run accident lawyer serving Monroe County can ensure you get compensation for property damage and any physical injuries sustained in the accident.
What to do After a Hit and Run Accident?
Pennsylvania law requires that the drivers of all vehicles involved in an auto accident stop at or near the site. Leaving the scene can result in hit and run charges brought against any perpetrators or victims. The drivers involved in the accident are required to furnish specific documentation to the others involved including:
- Name and current address
- Proof of automobile insurance
- Vehicle registration information
- A valid driver’s license
If there are individuals injured in the accident, the liable driver is also responsible for rendering assistance and ensuring they are transported to a medical facility if treatment is needed. In the scene of a hit and run accident, it may be hectic in the moment to try and decide what to do first, but you always want to stay calm and get help if you or the passenger(s) in your car are injured. Do not flee the scene and call the police and make a report. Accidents can be foggy and cause you to be anxious. but it is important that you are as detailed as possible and have as much evidence as possible, whether you or the other drive was at fault. Make sure you take photos of the scene and contact your insurance agent after calling the police. If there is a witness in the scene of the accident, find a safe way to get in contact with them regarding the hit and run. Remember to contact a personal injury attorney near Monroe County if you need legal help recovering accidental losses caused by the other driver.
Leaving the Scene of a Hit and Run in Monroe County
Fleeing the site of an auto collision constitutes a hit and run. In Pennsylvania, failure to stop may result in driver’s license suspension and misdemeanor charges; fines and jail time may occur. In the event someone is seriously injured, hit and run drivers may face felony charges. In fact Pennsylvania currently has a total of 125,267 reportable traffic crashes and according to the AAA foundation traffic safety, there has been an average of 682,000 hit and run crashes out of which includes an estimate of 6 out of 10 pedestrians severely injured
In the state of Pennsylvania, when there is a hit and run accident, it is a criminal act with a minimum of 90-day jail sentence and a minimum fine of $1,000 if the accident resulted in injuries. There are other severe hit and run charges and penalties in the state of Pennsylvania, but our accident lawyers here at Durlofsky Law Offices are here to help you every step of the way.
Consulting with a Personal Injury Lawyer
If you are the victim of a hit and run, your injuries may cause more than damage to your car. Personal injuries can be severe. You could lose your job, be unable to pay your medical expenses or be rendered permanently disabled. At the Gregg Durlofsky Law Offices, we know that an auto accident, such as a motorcycle, truck, or bus, can disrupt and irrevocably change your life. Call us to schedule a consultation with our hit and run accident lawyer serving Monroe County. We have been helping our clients with personal injury claims for more than 20 years.